Could Doing This to Someone Land You in Jail in Arkansas? What About Texas?
Did your mom teach you not to spit? Of course, she did because moms know best and it's rude to spit. But is it illegal to spit on someone? Could you land in jail?
Here's the deal, Mom was right. It's not polite to spit at someone and depending on the state you are in it can be considered assault. That's right. Assault. Is it considered assault in Arkansas? What about Texas? Here's what we found out.
Spitting on Someone In Texas
In Texas, according to KXAN, one of the definitions of assault is;
intentionally or knowingly causing physical contact with another when the person knows or should reasonably believe that the other will regard the contact as offensive or provocative.
In Texas spitting on someone is considered a Class C Misdemeanor and you could get fined up to $500!
Spitting on Someone in Arkansas
Now, in Arkansas it gets a little interesting, first of all, it is a crime in Arkansas to spit on someone, and a few other states for the same reason...it could spread disease. This law gives the courts the right to sentence someone to 20 years!
The other instance where spitting will get you in trouble is spitting on a first responder. Yes, this means EMTs, Paramedics, Fire Fighters and Police Officers.
According to arkleg.state.ar.us/Bills
The person knowingly causes physical contact with a first
responder that a reasonable person would regard as extremely offensive or provocative, including without limitation spitting, throwing, or otherwise transferring bodily fluids, pathogens, or human waste onto the person of a first responder.
This is considered Battery in the 3rd degree in Arkansas which is a Class C misdemeanor and you could land in jail for up to 30 days and a $500 fine.
The best advice is to listen to your mom and just don't spit it's not polite and it could cost you.
LOOK: What major laws were passed the year you were born?
LOOK: What are the odds that these 50 totally random events will happen to you?