It's time to nominate a great restaurant, proprietor and food event in the Texarkana area for the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame. We've already had some big local winners from our area in the past couple of years. Cattleman's was inducted last year and Hope Watermelon Festival won a couple of years ago for in the Food-Themed Event.

Let's see if we can get another local restaurant in the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame. Nominations will remain open through October 31, 2020. The statewide program is celebrating its fifth year of recognizing the legendary restaurants, proprietors and food-themed events from every part of the state, and sparking a unique conversation about food and how it relates to Arkansas’s heritage.

"This year marks 5 years of celebrating the best of our state’s food history and culture with the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame," said Stacy Hurst, Secretary of the Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism in a press release. "Our story is both compelling and instructive and we are excited to continue this conversation."

Nominations are being accepted at in five categories:

  • Arkansas Food Hall of Fame – This award recognizes those long-standing restaurants that have become legendary attractions in Arkansas.
  • Proprietor of the Year – This award honors a chef, cook and/or restaurant owner in Arkansas who has made significant achievements in the food industry.
  • Food-Themed Event – This award honors a community food-themed event or festival that makes our state a great place to live and visit.
  • Gone But Not Forgotten – This award remembers the collective culinary legacy of a once-and-always influential Arkansas restaurant that has since ceased operations.
  • People’s Choice – This award identifies the public’s favorite. This award is truly in the hands of Arkansans. The restaurant or food truck that receives the highest number of votes wins.


“These nominations honor special food flavors, events and people from across the state,” said Jimmy Bryant, director of the Division of Arkansas Heritage. “Every person has a story to tell when it comes to food and these nominations are the perfect time to share your Arkansas food experience.”

More than 1,450 submissions were received from all 75 Arkansas counties last year, more than double from the previous year. Winners will be chosen this winter by a special committee of Arkansans who are historians, chefs, foodies and food authors. Committee members include, Paul S. Austin, Jimmy Bryant, Chip Culpepper, Cindy Grisham, Stacy Hurst, Montine McNulty, Rex Nelson, Tim Nutt, Kat Robinson, Christina Shutt, Donna Uptigrove, David Ware and Stanley Young. Honorees and finalists will be announced at a special ceremony in 2021.

Power 95.9 logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app


KEEP READING: 3-ingredient recipes you can make right now


More From Power 95.9