Congratulations to the 2020 U of A Hope-Texarkana Outstanding Staff Member of the Year, Shelia Jackson and to the Academic All-Star, Carolyn Dixon. 

Shelia was recently recognized at the annual Arkansas Community College’s Conference. She has been employed at the college for fifteen years and currently serves as a Library Technical Assistant.

According to a press release, in her nomination letter, Shelia is there to help students at all costs. She goes out of her way to ensure students have the books and supplies they need to have a successful semester. Whether it is helping students rent textbooks or figure out how to get a student ID, she is always helpful. She is just an all-around great person.

UofA Hope Texarkana


Carolyn Dixon was named The 2020 U of A Hope-Texarkana Academic All-Star, at the annual Arkansas Community College’s Conference. According to a press release, in her time at UAHT, Dixon has made the Chancellor’s Honor Roll, been elected as President of TRiO Student Support Services, and Senator-At-Large of the Student Government Association. She also helps other students on campus by serving as a math tutor.

UofA Hope Texarkana

The purpose of the Academic All-Star Program is to recognize the scholarly and service achievements of Arkansas’ two-year college students. Each All-Star receives a $500 scholarship for his/her final semester at their two-year college of attendance and a full-tuition transfer scholarship to any Arkansas public four-year university. Dixon is currently pursuing an Associate of Arts Degree in General Education at UAHT. Her plans include transferring to Southern Arkansas University to pursue a bachelor’s degree in elementary education and a master’s degree in educational leadership.

Dixon said she was thankful to everyone at UAHT for everything they’ve done for her. “It means a lot to know your school only wants the best for you. No matter where I decide to further my education, I will never forget the great and fun times I had at UAHT. I will be a proud alumna and will always be proud to say I started at a two-year community college.”

Congratulations to both these outstanding women!

Enter your number to get our free mobile app