The 2020 edition of The Hawk yearbook was named a Pacemaker Finalist by the National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) on March 9, 2021.

The National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) named 51 high school yearbooks from 18 states as finalists in its prestigious Pacemaker Competition. In all, 380 student publications entered the Pacemaker competition. Twenty-two of the 51 finalists will earn the Pacemaker award, which will be announced on April 10 as part of the virtual JEA/NSPA Spring National High School Journalism Convention.

The journalism department is advised by Charla Harris, 2019 National High School Yearbook Adviser of the Year. Editors of The Hawk yearbook in 2019-2020 were Kathryn Davis, Presley Hargrove, Rachel Hemphill, and Olivia Rochelle.

According to the National Scholastic Press Association's website

The National Pacemaker Awards are awards given for excellence in American student journalism. The awards have been handed out annually since 1927. The awards are generally considered to be the highest national honors in their field and are unofficially known as the "Pulitzer Prizes of student journalism

 Yearbook/Magazine Pacemakers are judged based upon the following criteria: writing/editing, design, content, concept, photography, art and graphics.

In conjunction with the Yearbook Pacemaker competition, ACP/NSPA will recognize with an award of excellence the best interactive (CD/DVD) yearbooks in a separate contest. Interactive entries must include a copy of the printed book.

Power 95.9 logo
Get our free mobile app


The 40 Best Cover Songs by Rock Bands


More From Power 95.9