Texting And Driving Will Be Illegal In Texas September 1st
You better be careful. New laws that go into effect on September 1st in Texas may cost you.
There are a total of 673 new laws that go into effect on September 1st. These laws will impact your daily life and will make it safe to be on the roads.
People who abuse animals will get stiffer penalties, anyone who breaks a window to rescue kids from a hot car will be protected from lawsuits and UIL sports officials will have to undergo criminal back ground checks every three years.
The Star Telegram reports that Texas Governor Greg Abbot wanted to make sure that the no local law can over ride the state law.
James Bass executive director of the Texas Department of Transportation says.
Last year, 455 people were killed and more than 3,000 were seriously injured in crashes due to driver distractions, these crashes are highest among young drivers. We ask all drivers to always keep their eyes and attention on the road, and avoid distractions of any kind.
Violators will face a fine of $25 to $99, and repeat offenders could be fined up to $200, These fines are actually lower than what Arkansas has on the books. First offense is a warning and a fine up to $250 with repeat offenders facing a fine up to $500.